Skip To Main Content

Curriculum at St. George's British International School

Our curriculum provides every student with an individual learning experience designed to provide an integrated and all-round education.We believe that music, art and sport play a vital role in promoting and enhancing each student’s potential and help to instil values such as teamwork, creativity, determination, respect and a sense of personal and academic confidence. We aim to provide every student with a broad and balanced education in a stimulating, family-friendly environment. We believe that students learn best when they are happy, motivated and confident. 

We are accredited by both the British Council and the Basque Government. All classes are taught in English, with the exception of language classes – Basque and Spanish – and Sociales, social sciences taught in Spanish. Our teachers are highly qualified and experienced native speakers, specifically trained in the teaching techniques and content required by the English National Curriculum.

Moving forward with the English National Curriculum 

At present St. George’s School teaches the English National Curriculum from Pre-Nursery to Year 10 (age 14) and the Spanish National Bilingual Curriculum throughout secondary and post-16. We are gradually switching over to the English National Curriculum year by year until we are teaching the curriculum throughout the entirety of the school, through secondary and post-16. This gradual transition will be completed by 2025.

Key Stages explained


The British education system is divided into Key Stages that focus on different areas of development, from early years to post-16. Each stage has a clearly defined programme of study, with continuous assessment throughout the course, and evaluations at the end of the stage. The Key Stages are divided as follows:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (ages two to five)
  • Key Stage 1: Primary Education Years 1 & 2 (ages five to seven)
  • Key Stage 2: Primary Education Years 3 & 6 (ages seven to 11)
  • Key Stage 3: Secondary Education Years 7 & 9 (ages 11 to 14)
  • Key Stage 4: Secondary Education Years 10-11 (age 15 to 16), culminating in IGCSEs 
  • Sixth Form: Years 12-13 (ages 16 to 18 years), culminating in A-Level examinations

Governance & Leadership


Values Education


Toggle Language Desktop

Toggle Language Mobile



We are dedicated to ensuring that every student feels confident, positive and enthusiastic about learning.